top of page

Аndrey Kuzkin

Paris, France
March '22 - present '23

Winner of the All-Russian contemporary visual art competition "Innovation" (nominations "New Generation", 2008 and "Book of the Year" 2017), the "Companion" award (2009, 2010, 2011) and the Kandinsky Prize (nomination "Project of the Year" in 2016 and 2021).

The artist has participated in numerous group projects, including the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale (2009, 2011, 2015), the Berlin Biennale (2010), the project "Modernikon. Contemporary Art from Russia" (Turin, Venice, 2010), the Performa 11 Biennale (New York, 2011), "The End of the World" (Prato, 2016), the Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art (2015, 2019), the Russian Contemporary Art Triennale (Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow 2020) and others.

The works are in the collections of the Georges Pompidou National Center for Art and Culture (Paris), the State Tretyakov Gallery (Moscow), the Moscow Museum of Modern Art, the State Center for Contemporary Art (Moscow), etc.

In his activities, he often turns to performative and actionist practices. The main issues he is interested in are existential concerns that trouble every human being: the confrontation of life and death, the mortality and the disappearance of the human body. Drawing on a conceptualist approach in his work, the artist uses various media - graphics, painting, sculpture and installation.

BREAD PEOPLE. 2022-23

The small sculptures Bread People were created by the artist on his arrival in Paris after his abrupt departure from Russia. Andrei Kuzkin sculpted them using everyday objects found in the basement of the house where he lived. In this way, the artist was literally settling into his new home. Bread, in this case, symbolises the frailty of the human body. Here the Christian symbolism of bread is combined with the tradition of bread moulding in prison.

NEW YEAR'S BLACK HOLES. 2023

graphics series

PHENOMENON OF NATURE OR 99 LANDSCAPES WITH A TREE №74. 2023
performance at the HUS gallery, Paris
I WANT THE WAR TO END. 2023

A series of performative graphics consisting of several sheets of paper, each quote the phrase I Want the War to End in four languages - Ukrainian, Russian, French, and English. The time spent creating these sheets becomes intangible capital and an important component of this work.

"A strong desire, which in no way can be realized, has no direct outlet and as a result is sublimated into these graphic sheets..."

top of page

Андрей Кузькин

Париж, Франция
март '22 - н.в.

Лауреат Всероссийского конкурса в области современного визуального искусства «Инновация» (номинации «Новая генерация», 2008 и «Книга года» 2017), премии «Соратник» (2009, 2010, 2011) и Премии Кандинского (номинация «Проект года» в 2016 и 2021 году).
Художник участвовал во множестве групповых проектов, в том числе Красноярской музейной биеннале (2009, 2011, 2015), Берлинской биеннале (2010), проекте «Модерникон. Современное искусство из России» (Турин, Венеция, 2010), биеннале Performa 11 (Нью-Йорк, 2011), «Конец мира» (Прато, 2016), Московской биеннале современного искусства (2015, 2019), Триеннале российского современного искусства (Музей современного искусства «Гараж», Москва 2020) и др.
Работы находятся в собраниях Национального центра искусства и культуры Жоржа Помпиду (Париж), Государственной Третьяковской галереи (Москва), Московского музея современного искусства, Государственного центра современного искусства (Москва) и др.


В своей деятельности часто обращается

к перформативным и акционистским практикам. Основные вопросы, которые его интересуют,

– экзистенциальные, занимающие любого человека: противостояние жизни и смерти, бренность

и исчезновение человеческого тела. Опираясь в своих работах на концептуалистский подход, художник использует различные медиа – графика, живопись, скульптура, инсталляция.

ХЛЕБНЫЙ ЧЕЛОВЕЧКИ. 2022-23

Небольшие скульптуры Хлебные человечки созданы 

художником по приезде в Париж после внезапного отъезда из России. Андрей Кузькин лепил их, используя предметы быта, найденные в подвале дома, где он жил. Таким образом художник буквально обживал свой новый дом. Хлеб, в данном случае, символизирует бренность человеческого тела. Здесь христианский символизм хлеба соединяется с традицией лепки из хлеба в тюрьме. 

НОВОГОДНИЕ ЧЕРНЫЕ ДЫРЫ. 2023

серия графики

ЯВЛЕНИЕ ПРИРОДЫ ИЛИ 99 ПЕЙЗАЖЕЙ С ДЕРЕВОМ № 74. 2023
перформанс в галерее HUS. Париж
Я ХОЧУ, ЧТОБЫ ВОЙНА ЗАКОНЧИЛАСЬ. 2023

Серия перформативной графики, состоящая

из нескольких листов бумаги, на каждом из которых написана фраза Я хочу, чтобы война закончилась на четырёх языках — украинском, русским, французском и английском. Потраченное время на создание этих листов становится нематериальным капиталом и важной составляющей этого произведения.

 

«Сильное желание, которое никак не может быть реализовано, не имеет прямого выхода и в результате сублимируется

в эти графические листы…»